Eurodac

Eurodac is an information system that was introduced to compare digital fingerprints of asylum seekers and illegal immigrants to facilitate the application of the “Dublin II” Regulation. This will help designate the Member State that has to assess the asylum application.

What is Eurodac?

The Eurodac system consists of: a central unit managed by the European Commission, a central computerised database of digital fingerprints, electronic means for data transfers between Member States and the central database. Only national authorities responsible for asylum applications have access to the central database.

These are the three categories of persons for whom Eurodac gathers information: asylum seekers older than 14 years, aliens apprehended in connection with the irregular crossing of an external border and aliens illegally on the territory of a Member State.

The following data are registered: the Member State of origin, the digital fingerprint, the sex and the reference number used by the Member State of origin. When there is an alert  the data are transferred through the DubliNet system. DubliNet is a secure electronic communication network between the national authorities dealing with asylum applications. The two involved Member States can exchange personal data through DubliNet that differ from Eurodac data, like name, date of birth, nationality, photo, details on family members and in some cases addresses.

Is there any supervision of the personal data processed by the Eurodac system?

The European Data Protection Supervisor monitors the processing of personal data in the database (central unit) and the transfer of personal data to Member States. The data protection authorities of the Member States (the Privacy Commission in Belgium) oversee the processing operations carried out by their national authorities as well as transfers of personal data to the central unit. 

A supervision coordination group was established, which consists of the European Data Protection Supervisor and the national data protection authorities, to ensure that the system is approached uniformly. This supervision group holds meetings at regular intervals and examines common problems that arise when the Eurodac system is in operation. It also proposes joint solutions.

Eurodac

Eurodac est un système d'information établi pour la comparaison des empreintes digitales des demandeurs d’asile et des immigrants clandestins afin de faciliter l’application de la Convention de Dublin qui permet de déterminer l’État responsable de l’examen d’une demande d’asile.

Qu'est-ce qu'Eurodac ?

Le Système Eurodac se compose d’une unité centrale gérée par la Commission européenne, d’une base de données centrale informatisée d’empreintes digitales et de moyens électroniques de transmission entre les États membres et la base de données centrale. Seules les autorités nationales compétentes en matière d’asile ont accès à la banque de données centrale.

Les trois catégories de personnes dont les données à caractère personnel sont collectées par Eurodac sont les suivantes : les demandeurs d’asile âgés de plus de 14 ans, les étrangers appréhendés à l’occasion du franchissement irrégulier d’une frontière extérieure et les étrangers se trouvant illégalement sur le territoire d’un Etat membre.

Les données suivantes sont enregistrées : l’État membre d’origine, les empreintes digitales, le sexe, et un numéro de référence utilisé par l’État membre d’origine. Dans le cas d’un signalement, un échange additionnel de données est effectué à travers le système DubliNet. DubliNet est un réseau sûr de communicaitons électroniques entre les autorités nationales qui traient les demandes d’asile. Les deux États membres concernés peuvent échanger à travers DubliNet des données à caractère personnel différentes de celles d’Eurodac telles que le nom, la date de naissance, la nationalité, la photo, des détails sur les membres de la famille et dans certains cas des adresses.

Y-a-t-il un contrôle sur les données à caractère personnel traitées dans le Système Eurodac ?

Le Contrôleur européen à la protection des données contrôle le traitement des données à caractère personnel dans la banque de données (unité centrale) et leur transmission aux États membres. Les autorités chargées de la protection des données dans les États membres (en Belgique, il s’agit de la Commission de la protection de la vie privée) contrôlent les traitements de données effectués par les autorités nationales, ainsi que la transmission de ces données à l'unité centrale.

Afin d’assurer une approche coordonnée, un groupe de coordination de contrôle composé du Contrôleur européen de la protection des données et des autorités nationales de protection des données se réunit à intervalles réguliers afin d'examiner les problèmes communs que pose le fonctionnement du système Eurodac et de recommander des solutions communes.