Composition of the Sector Committee of the National Register

The Sector Committee of the National Register consists of six permanent and six substitute members, each category including:

  • three external members;
  • three members of the Privacy Commission.

In principle the president of the Privacy Commission also presides over this Sector Committee. If he decides not to do so, the Privacy Commission will designate one of its members as president.

The external members are appointed because of their expertise in the sector, i.e.:

  • legal expertise;
  • professional and practical experience regarding the use of personal data;
  • particular expertise in e-government and/or administrative simplification.

The manager of the National Register can participate in the Sector Committee meetings and has an advisory vote.

The mandate of the current committee's external members started on 31 March 2014.

Mrs. Mireille Salmon (F)Judge at the Brussels Court of Appeal
Working members
Mr. Frank Robben (D)General manager of the Crossroads Bank for Social Security (CBSS) and of the eHealth platform
Mr. Joel Livyns (F)       Professor of French as a foreign language
Mr. Marc Lognoul (F)Legal expert
Mr. Daniël Hache (D)Deputy director general of the ASTRID security communication network
Mr. Bart Preneel (D) Professor at the K.U. Leuven
Substitute members
Mr.. Stefan Verschuere (F)Vice president of the Privacy Commission
Mr. Jo Baret (D)    Honorary Secretary General of the Ministry of Justice
Mr. Serge Mertens de Wilmars (F)Professor
Mrs. Els Kindt (D)Postdoctoral Scientific Researcher KU Leuven
Lecturer KUL-HUB
Mr. Rudy Trogh (D)Head of the Micro-Economic Information Department at the National Bank of Belgium
Mrs. Aurélie Van Der Perre (F)Compliance Officer at the Royal Federation of Belgian Notaries Public