Composition of the Health Section

The Health Section of the Sector Committee of Social Security and Health consists of six members: two Privacy Commission members and four external members (physicians). The latter have been appointed for their expertise in the medical sector. There is also a substitute for each permanent member.

The mandates of the current committee's external members started on 15 August 2008.

Other members with a purely advisory vote have been added: the manager of the eHealth platform, leading civil servants at the Crossroads Bank of Social Security or of other federal public services in the sector.

In principle the Privacy Commission's presidents presides over the committee. If he decides not do so, the Privacy Commission will designate one of its own members as president.

Mr. Yves Roger (F)Member of the Privacy Commission
Members by law
Mr. Dirk Van Der Kelen (D)Member of the Privacy Commission
Working members
Mr. Bart Viaene (D)Medical Head of the ICT Department/occupational physician
Mr. Christian Smulders (F)Physician
Mr. Benoît Debande (F)Physician/hospital manager
Mr. Georges De Moor (D)Physician/Head of the Medical Informatics and Statistics Department
Substitute members
Mr. Joel Livyns (F)Member of the Privacy Commission
Mr. Ivan Vandermeersch (D)Member of the Privacy Commission
Mr. Stefaan Bartholomeeusen (D)General practitioner/physician-specialist
Mr. Etienne De Clercq (F)Physician-expert
Mr. Didier Thillaye du Boullay (F)Physician
Mr. Michel Deneyer (D)Member of the National Council of the Order of Physicians/paediatrician
Members with an advisory vote
Mr. Frank Robben (D)General manager of the Crossroads Bank of Social Security (CBSS) and of the eHealth platform
Mr. Emmanuel Quintin (F)Deputy general manager of the Crossroads Bank for Social Security (CBSS)
Mr. Jean-Marie Delrue (F)Chair of the General Coordination Committee of the CBSS